The Route

The Great Tour takes place over 64 days, covering almost 6,700 kilometres of Britain’s beautiful coastline by bike. Starting and finishing from Ryde on the Isle of Wight, the route is planned in an anti-clockwise direction, divided into nine week long blocks. Scroll down to find out more detail about the route.

The Great Tour Route

Find out the day-by-day Great Tour route below

Day Date Route Distance
1 Sat 4 July Ryde to Cowes 88.1km
2 Sun 5 July Southampton to Brighton 139.7km
3 Mon 6 July Brighton to Rye 92.6km
4 Tue 7 July Rye to Broadstairs 106km
5 Wed 8 July Broadstairs to Chatham 100km
6 Thu 9 July Chatham to Southend 99.1km
7 Fri 10 July Southend to Clacton 100km
8 Sat 11 July Clacton to Southwold 100km
9 Sun 12 July Southwold to Cromer 100km
10 Mon 13 July Cromer to King’s Lynn 100km
11 Tue 14 July King’s Lynn to Grimsby 186.8km
12 Wed 15 July Grimsby to Scarborough 174.9km
13 Thu 16 July Scarborough to Hartlepool 105.3km
14 Fri 17 July Hartlepool to Alnwick 122.1km
15 Sat 18 July Alnwick to Berwick 68.9km
16 Sun 19 July Berwick to Edinburgh 111.1km
17 Mon 20 July Edinburgh to Dundee 134.2km
18 Tue 21 July Dundee to Aberdeen 125km
19 Wed 22 July Aberdeen to Fraserburgh 93.3km
20 Thu 23 July Fraserburgh to Lossiemouth 104.6km
21 Fri 24 July Lossiemouth to Inverness 78.3km
22 Sat 25 July Inverness to Dornoch 96.6km
23 Sun 26 July Dornoch to Wick 107.5km
24 Mon 27 July Wick to Tongue 135km
25 Tue 28 July Tongue to Scourie 86.5km
26 Wed 29 July Scourie to Ullapool 104km
27 Thu 30 July Ullapool to Gairloch 90km
28 Fri 31 July Gairloch to Applecross 100km
29 Sat 1 August Applecross to Mallaig 108.5km
30 Sun 2 August Mallaig to Oban 140.1km
31 Mon 3 August Oban to Dumbarton Castle 128.8km
32 Tue 4 August Dumbarton Castle to Ayr 114.7km
33 Wed 5 August Ayr to Port Patrick 93.2km
34 Thu 6 August Port Patrick to Newton Stewart 107km
35 Fri 7 August Newton Stewart to Dumfries 119.7km
36 Sat 8 August Dumfries to Carlisle 70.3km
37 Sun 9 August Carlisle to St Bees 93.8km
38 Mon 10 August St Bees to Barrow in Furness 96.6km
39 Tue 11 August Barrow in Furness to Morecambe 103.6km
40 Wed 12 August Morecambe to Preston 89.9km
41 Thu 13 August Preston to Liverpool 73km
42 Fri 14 August Liverpool to Colwyn Bay 97.7km
43 Sat 15 August Colwyn Bay to Holyhead 149.4km
44 Sun 16 August Holyhead to Aberdaron 128.7km
45 Mon 17 August Aberdaron to Barmouth 92.4km
46 Tue 18 August Barmouth to Aberystwyth 78.5km
47 Wed 19 August Aberystwyth to St Davids 144.1km
48 Thu 20 August St Davids to Pembroke Castle 108.9km
49 Fri 21 August Pembroke Castle to Llanelli 140.9km
50 Sat 22 August Llanelli to Porthcawl 111.4km
51 Sun 23 August Porthcawl to Newport 93.3km
52 Mon 24 August Newport to Bristol 80.7km
53 Tue 25 August Bristol to Porlock 153km
54 Wed 26 August Porlock to Clovelly 118.3km
55 Thu 27 August Clovelly to Padstow 106.6km
56 Fri 28 August Padstow to St Ives 102km
57 Sat 29 August St Ives to Penzance 63.4km
58 Sun 30 August Penzance to Falmouth 97.1km
59 Mon 31 August Falmouth to Eden Project 91km
60 Tue 1 September Eden Project to Plymouth 90.4km
61 Wed 2 September Plymouth to Dartmouth 133.2km
62 Thu 3 September Dartmouth to Seaton 116.1km
63 Fri 4 September Seaton to Poole 133km
64 Sat 5 September Poole to Ryde 121.1km